Adventure: The In-Between

Image

Everyone thinksWe often think… I often think of adventures as being exciting. I wanted to bring all ya’ll in on that thought, but even as I was typing it I realized that, well, not everyone does think of adventures as excitement. Some people think they’re scary. A lot of folks would rather others go on the adventures. After all, that’s what movies are for.

We can watch Indiana Jones or James Bond or Frodo Baggins walk the walk, talk the talk, kiss the girl, subdue the bad guy, fall down, get back up (there’s alot of falling down and getting back up in adventure movies — also a lot of scratched and bloodied faces) and rescue the world, save Middle Earth, and ride off into the sunset, singing We are the Three Amigos! We are the Threeeeeeee Amigos! — sorry– child of the 80s flashback.

But what about real life adventures?

What do they look like for someone like me?

I suppose we are on one right now.

We picked up our family and moved across the country from Louisiana to Idaho, chasing a dream that died after we got here. I wonder if I would have come if the dream had not been placed in my heart? Maybe I would have just stayed in Louisiana where my family has lived for 200 years.

But… adventure called.  Now that one dream has died, other dreams will come.  I can say that I’ve learned that not all dreams will come to harvest… that you can spend a great deal of money pursuing an idea and have debt and experience as the perceived payoff.

Honestly, though, I am more interested restless to see what God has planned next. I know in my heart that He sent us to Idaho for purposes of His own design. What are they? What will He require of us? What will He do in and through our family and our lives? How will our family grow?

These are the unanswered questions.  Yet, I trust Him. Real adventures don’t fit into a three hour blockbuster. They are more like the book version. Much gets left on the cutting room floor or in the author’s waste basket.

Some of my favorite parts of the Lord of the Rings epic never made it into the movie. Perhaps hanging out here next to a waste basket full of possible-but-not-quite-right plans while the Author is considering what to write on the next page is just the gritty, dirty, time-consuming part of real adventure.

I’m learning that scope, planning and contingencies are all part of the adventure–not just the execution.

It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines, it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. Because they were holding on to something… There’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo. And it’s worth fighting for.

Samwise Gamgee, The Lord of the Rings

What lessons have you learned?

5 thoughts on “Adventure: The In-Between

  1. My family went through much the same thing when we moved here. My mother dug her heels in much of the trip from our life-time home in California to Idaho. But wonderful things have come from it. I’m praying for you in your new adventure!

    • Thank you Grace! It is helpful to be reminded that He always has good plans. I’ve enjoyed reading your writings over the last couple days since Bekah sent me your site. He is Good.

Leave a Reply

