Concerning Hobbits…and King David

Jason sure has a way of making adventures sound exciting. After reading this, who wouldn’t want to run out and have an adventure?

[Andrea raises her hand.] Um… Me?

In fact, if I were to pick my favorite quote by Tolkien about adventures, it would go something like this:

“We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner! I can’t think what anybody sees in them.” -Bilbo Baggins, The Hobbit

Yep, I was a quiet, respectable Hobbit before that adventurer came along.

The thing is, I think that’s one of the very reasons the Lord brought Jason into my life. I guess He wanted to shake things up a little bit.

And that’s where the trust comes in. Can I trust him when he comes up with an unpredictable idea? Something that doesn’t seem entirely safe? And can I trust the Lord to work all things together for good…even adventures? Even when the adventure seems to be going all wrong?

After all, life itself is an adventure. For some of us, the goal of life seems to be to make it safely to death. But that isn’t what God calls us to. Who better to trust than the One who knows the end from the beginning? The One who already wrote the whole story? Can we trust God to lead us where He wants to, even if we don’t know where we are going?

So I think about some of my favorite people from the Bible: Noah, Abraham, Moses. Gideon, Esther and Daniel. Spiritual giants, yet really they were just normal people who trusted God. How might the Bible be different if they had refused God when He chose them for His adventures? Would we even know their names at all? Or would they have turned out like Jonah, who, in his refusal, ended up with a MUCH bigger adventure than he ever bargained for? God is known to do that.

But one of the biggest giants I think of from the Old Testament is the giant-slayer, himself – David. David’s life was full of adventures. He killed bears and lions as a shepherd boy. He struck down tens of thousands of evil men. He ran for his life from Saul for 8 years, and later, he even had to flee for his own life from his son.

Always a formidable warrior, he defeated king after king, nation after nation, expanded and secured the borders of Israel and effectively united the nation.

So what was King David’s secret?

Here’s a hint: the word “trust” can be found 50 times in the Psalms.

“And those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O LORD, have not forsaken those who seek you.” – Psalm 9:10

“The LORD is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.” – Psalm 28:7

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?” – Psalm 56:3-4

Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us.” – Psalm 62:8

“For you, O LORD, are my hope, my trust, O LORD, from my youth.” – Psalm 71:5

“I will say to the LORD, ‘My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.‘” – Psalm 91:2

“Those who trust in the Lord are like Mount Zion, which cannot be moved, but abides forever.” Psalm 125:1

When David trusted in David, he fell. When he trusted in God, he was more victorious than you or I could ever dream.

What stands out to me the most, more than anything else in David’s life, was that he was a man after God’s own heart. That’s how he was able to safely trust in God throughout his whole life. God had his heart.

And you know what? More than anything else in my life, that’s what I’d like to be known for as well: a woman after God’s own heart who puts her trust in Him.

Even Bilbo learned that quiet Hobbits need an occasional adventure.

2 thoughts on “Concerning Hobbits…and King David

Leave a Reply

